Q & A a day: January 2017

OK, so back in October I decided I was going to write up my ‘Q&A a day’ every single month as a blog post.

My good intentions lasted for precisely one month.

Oops.

But we’re in a new year now and that means new starts, forgiveness and refreshed good intentions.

So, let’s start the year off as we mean to go on.

My Q&A a day for mom’s; January 2017…

January 1: What’s your resolution for your family? To enjoy and make the most of all the days we have together.

January 2: What’s your resolution for yourself? Stop sweating the small stuff! Enjoy life and stop thinking you’re going to miss out on things. You’re not. It’s gonna be OK.

January 3: I love seeing my child [blank]: Every day. Maternity leave ends today and it has broken my heart.

January 4: Who was the last family member to visit? My in-laws, Jackie and Keith, to deliver stair gates. Bring on the baby-proofing!

January 5: What’s something you’ve done for your child that you never imagined you’d do? Breastfeeding. It just wasn’t something I was passionate about but I did it for six months and now I miss it like mad.

January 6: How is your mum-esteem right now? Hmm. Well, I’ve just gone back to work after maternity leave so I feel a bit lost, confused and not sure where I fit in any more. So I guess not very high?

January 7: What’s a smell you associate with your child? I probably shouldn’t say ‘poop’, should I? He still has that magically wonderful baby smell. That mix of warmth, Johnson’s baby shampoo and slightly stale milk. Yummy!

January 8: What made your child laugh today? Daddy. It is always Daddy.

January 9: I was in awe when my child [blank]. Moved. Ahhh he’s so bloomin’ close to crawling!

img_20170122_085306_009
Damn it, just crawl already!

January 10: What was the best hug you had last week? Getting back home from work and seeing a smiley Felix hold his arms up for a hug. It makes it all worthwhile.

January 11: When was the last time you were at the library? Oh Jeez! Is it bad that I don’t know where my local library is? Probably about eight years ago when I was at Uni…

January 12: I’ll be honest [blank] drives me crazy. When people deviate from a plan. Plans and schedules are made for a reason, people!

January 13: What interests your child lately? Every darn thing! Mostly things he shouldn’t have like phones, remote controls and cutlery. Things from inside drawers he shouldn’t be able to open but magically can. But also balls, bubbles, faces, puppets, books, TV, leaves, cats. I could go on. He’s at a very inquisitive stage!

January 14: If you could have a parenting do-over, what would it be? What’s a ‘do-over’? Like a makeover? I guess an emotional makeover to be more OK with my inner work/life balance.

January 15: My floor is covered with [blank]. Toys. Lots and lots of toys.

January 16: Write down one thing you want to remember today. Felix has learnt how to say ‘mama’ and now doesn’t stop. Ever. And I love it!

January 17: When was the last time you thought ‘I didn’t see that one coming’? When Felix slept through the night, every night, the week I returned to work. He hadn’t done it in so long! Don’t worry, it didn’t last long…

January 18: What’s your favourite quote about motherhood? Winging it.

January 19: My bed is a place where [blank]. I find wet towels (cheers, husband!), fight for space, used to sleep and occasionally find solace.

January 20: What’s a parenting trick you recently discovered? It’s not a trick as such but we seem to have mastered day time naps at long last!

January 21: Our family needs to save money for [blank]. We’re off on holiday in June so I guess we need some spending money for that. I’m always trying to save up for a deposit for a bigger house though (a girl’s gotta dream!).

January 22: What makes you feel put together? A straight fringe, fresh eyeliner and a pair of boots.

January 23: Tomorrow I will [blank] because I know it will make [blank] happy. Give my husband a back massage. I’ve been promising for long enough…

January 24: What’s the most recent thing you’ve handed down to another mom? Does advice on returning to work count?

January 25: Describe a face your child makes. He smiles the biggest smile from ear to ear. His whole face crinkles and lights up. It’s gorgeous!

January 26: What’s a recent ‘first’? He says ‘dada’ as well as ‘mama’ now and is so close to crawling (still!). He belly flops and commando crawls everywhere though.

January 27: People might guess I’m a mom because [blank]. I don’t shut up about it. So I’m proud, and what?!

January 28: What were you thinking about as you fell asleep last night? My husband and I were playing an alphabet game (I know, we’re cool like that) and I think I was stuck on animals beginning with ‘N’. Damn, I’ve just thought of one! Newt.

January 29: Do you have rules? What are they? Yes, many! Gosh, I sound dull… My new rule for myself is to let things go easier.

January 30: What’s one piece of parenting advice you absolutely do not believe in? For when he’s a bit older, but bot to set rules. Everyone needs boundaries, even if it’s just so they can learn to push them.

January 31: What are your three most recent kid-related purchases? A lightweight buggy, a pop-up dinosaur book and some new pyjamas.

 

 

Leave a Reply

