Sunshine Blogger Award: Answers and Nominations

So a month or so ago, the rather lovely Mummy Setra nominated me to for the Sunshine Blogger Award. Finally I am getting round to it, so here goes…

What has been your favourite post that you’ve written to date? I would have to say One Year On: A Letter to Felix. Reliving those moments and memories was just amazing. Life gets in the way and I never want to forget those little things that made my pregnancy what it was.

Who is your inspiration? I guess I have two really; a personal one and a celebrity. My personal inspiration is my Mum. She brought up my sister and me mostly on her own and life was not always easy. Far from it. I don’t know how she did it and I take my hat off to her. My celebrity inspiration(s) would be Tom and Gi Fletcher. They work incredibly hard but are so down to earth and honest. They make me realise that working full time and being great parents is possible, achievable and socially acceptable.

What is your favourite thing to do when the kids are in bed? Well that’s a tough one! Usually I do the housework, but I would not say that’s my favourite thing at all… I used to enjoy reading, playing board games, watching trash on Netflix with Darryl and generally just being a bit of a fool.

If you had to eat just one food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, what would it be? Oooh a tough one. Maybe mash potatoes. Or a curry. Oh, or my husband’s waffles. Or cucumber. Oh but then there’s chocolate… That one is way too hard to answer!

What one piece of advice would you give a new parent? Throw away the books, just do what’s right for you and your baby. You know best. There is no model baby and the books will just wind you up and make you doubt yourself!

What is your favourite movie? I have many! I love The Avengers series, but you can’t beat a good romcom like The Holiday and Love Actually. But I also love all the Disney Pixar movies. Oh and musicals like Hairspray and Chicago.

Wow, this is making me realise how indecisive I am! Sorry!

Which city would you love to visit? I would LOVE to go back to Vancouver. We went there on honeymoon and it was the most incredible city I’ve ever visited. If we ever got the chance to move there, we’d go in a heartbeat. I’d love to go to Sydney though, and to LA.

If you could be invisible, which famous person would you follow for the day? It’d have to be Gi Fletcher to see how she crams everything in!

What makes you happy? My son’s laugh. It is infectious!

Where do you see yourself ten years from now? Still winging my way through life, hopefully with a little friend for Felix. As long as we’re happy and healthy, we can be anywhere doing anything! Having said that, I’ll be just a few short months away from turning 40, so probably having some sort of mid-life crisis!

Phewf, I made it through!

I would now like to nominate:

  1. Stressy Mama
  2. Beauty, Baby and Me
  3. Dear, Mummy Bear
  4. NorthumMam
  5. RamblingsofMum

And my questions are:

  1. What’s the funniest thing your child has done so far?
  2. What was the worst thing about your pregnancy?
  3. What is one thing have you bought for your baby that you now realise was a waste of money?
  4. Who would you most like to retweet you?
  5. What advice would you give your 18 year old self?
  6. What one thing have you done that goes against all the parenting books?
  7. What makes you smile when you’re having a bad day?
  8. Where would you most like to travel (kid-free!)?
  9. If you could own one designer bag / shoes / item of clothing, what would it be?
  10. What would you most like to achieve for yourself in 2017?

Don’t forget to tweet me your answers @MummyMrsAndMe!

Leave a Reply

