Image

Monthly highlights – September 2016

As September draws to a close, I’ve been looking back at all the photos I’ve taken this month – and believe me, there are a few…

I love the idea of putting a monthly highlight together, somewhere I can go back to quickly and reminisce on all the fun stuff we did together as a family each month as Felix grows up. So here’s my first attempt; the highlights of the Atkins clan for September 2016.

All the food…

Let’s start off by talking about food. I’ve eaten a lot of it and am definitely packing on the pounds. But oh my, was it worth it! From scrumptious platters on the end of Cleethorpes pier to coffee shop cake, fast food to sampling Lincoln’s latest restaurant Wildwood (super family friendly, if you’re interested!), I really have eaten it all and then some.

As of October 1, I am banning myself from junk food and pledging to walk more every day. Let’s see how that goes…

Arts and crafts for all the family…

I’ve mentioned it before, but we’re not a very talented family when it comes to crafting, though that certainly doesn’t stop us from giving it our all! In September I rediscovered a bit of ‘me time‘ by going to a pottery painting class with my sister, mum and mother-in-law.

Felix also took his first steps into the artistic world at playgroup where we did some nice, baby friendly painting.

Milestone marathon!

September saw Felix hit multiple milestones not only in age (woohoo, 12 weeks!) but also developmentally. He’s mastered rolling from front to back – when I say ‘mastered’, what I mean is that he did it a number of times over a two day period and is too lazy to do it again – he found his thumb to suck instead of his entire fist (though that is still his preference), and even cracked out his first proper booming baby giggle instead of his usual dirty little chortle. And, at long last, he’s mastered tummy time and there’s not stopping him! He does create a lovely little pool of drool under him, somewhat resembling a St Bernard, but he loves it nonetheless!

We FINALLY ditched the tub!

When we bought our house last year it came with a hot tub in the garden. At the time this seemed amazing and we used it at least a handful of times… You can see where this is going. They’re awesome, a showpiece, a talking point but also they are massive and quite expensive to run when you’re not actually using it! We kept saying that we’d get rid of it to open up our garden but just never got around to it (you know, what with having a baby at the start of the summer and everything) and, as such, despite the fact I’ve been on maternity leave all summer and we’ve had nice weather, I’ve avoided the garden completely. Until now.

Now the tub has gone – hurrah! So we went all out and bought a lovely rattan garden set and now I go out there with Felix all the time! Hooray for an Indian summer, I say!

Oh, and a Spanish Slug did try to invade our newly enlarged garden but we soon put a stop to that – it was huge!

Just keep swimming…

September also saw the start of Felix’s swimming lessons. Although I used to be quite a strong swimmer, I haven’t really been in years so it was important for me to get him into the pool as young as possible so he doesn’t end up like me. Term started at the beginning of September at a lovely private pool in someone’s house. The instructors are fabulous, the water is warm and the classes are small and super friendly. Both Darryl and I have taken Felix in now and we’ve both dunked him too! Best of all, Felix absolutely loves swimming and seems to have taken to it really well. And the fact that it’s made bath time even easier is just an added bonus!

cof

Leave a Reply

